The Politics of Fashion

Fashion vs. Faith & Family

dgreligion

“My father questions my disinterest of politics.” This was a tweet that I put out on my Twitter on 3/27/2014. It’s not a special day. It’s seriously just any old day. Because, thing is, he does this all the time.

My father doesn’t quite appreciate the fact that I don’t think much of politics. And, since I actually understand it, it doesn’t help me much since that just further encourages him.  This has been my issue my whole life.

My parents were wary of my love of fashion since I was a child. I would stay up late at night in middle school sketching designs and watched shows like “America’s Next Top Model” to “Project Runway”. I took a sewing class and always dressed to the T. I joined online clubs of AI (Arts Institute of NY) and FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising), signed up for their newsletters, and even applied to get letters sent to my home to apply to go there. I knew I wasn’t going. I can’t really sew. My parents wouldn’t approve. And plainly, it’s difficult making a living off of becoming a designer – a new one at that. Yes, I’m a dreamer but I am also a realist. And that…that was only a dream.

Still, my passion has always been in the art realm. I can write for days. I’m passionate about everything television. That’s why I’m majoring in Communications. I’m able to keep my first love still burning through what I do. This style blog plays a huge part of it.

dgpol2

 

My parents have good intentions and I love them dearly for it. They refuse to see me struggling financially so clearly, they want me to have a good paying job. You see, they see me as a success story point blank period. And, they just don’t see fashion as a field that’s important. My father pretty much told me that writing or speaking on behalf of fashion is like…nothing. Politics, in particular is much more relevant. To be studying in DC for as semester is more relevant (I don’t mind that much). To be writing for the Times is more relevant. To be debating passionately on CNN is more relevant. My parents are truly the generation of conventional thinking. I have to keep in mind that they don’t see what I see because the things I want to do are more modern. (No, my parents are not old.)

As I always mention, I grew up in a Christian household. We take our faith very seriously and I take pride in that. Many use the name but don’t live it. I live believing that I should always be set apart…that I shouldn’t follow the customs of this world…that I shouldn’t ever conform (Romans 12:2). And, I stand strong in that. I don’t take interest in what celebrities do. I make it a point to not follow what everyone is doing. My goal is to set the standard, not yield to society’s norms.

I had to give you a brief foundation so that you all get what I’m trying to say. My parents think that fashion is worldly. In other words, they think it’s secular. But, I have to disagree. It’s hard to explain my take on it so maybe I’ll just show them this post. Under God’s umbrella, I can stand out of the rain of everyone’s goals/expectations/viewpoints. I can live out my life, pursuing what I love to do and still accomplish God’s will in any aspect… Fashion. Television. Politics!

I came across an article by Dan Blythe that quotes, “Jesus doesn’t care if you’re an innovator, trendsetter, trend-follower, or mainstreamer. Your style, taste, position, or popularity means nothing to Him. He is just looking for people who will follow.”  

I have no boundaries set in place. All I know right now is that my heart is in the One that created it…and all these talents and gifts in the first place!

dgpol 

Photos via Tumblr – Dolce Gabbana Fashion Show 2014

 

32 thoughts on “The Politics of Fashion

  1. Munachi says:

    I find it hard to express the depth of fashion beyond just clothes and accessories. And just like you I’m in the process of writing a blog post about my feelings about the non-materialistic parts of fashion to just show everyone. Fashion isn’t superficial (at least for the most part) and I wish more people would see that.

    Munachi

    Oh! P.S. I featured your post “Naked” on my blog today 🙂 Here’s the link if you’d like to check it out.
    http://glamorousrevelation.blogspot.com/2014/04/3-insightful-blog-posts-i-loved-this.html?m=1

    • tarahsaint says:

      Oh wow!!! Thank you so much! & for your kind words, too. I truly appreciate your support and I’m glad you hold me in such high regards. Thank you for featuring me; it’s an honor 🙂 God bless!

  2. vivalaboatemaa says:

    It’s ironic, growing up I had the same issue with my parents I was absolutely in love with fashion, all I wanted to do was create new designs and make clothes but my parents just didn’t understand! Sigh… They literally shot my dreams and eventually I just put my pencil down lol.

    • justmissedtherunway says:

      Hi boo! I want to encourage you and Tarah Lynn to pursue your very dreams! It seems we all grew up in similar households, where our families didn’t consider a career in fashion, well…. A career! I went the conventional route. Went to college. Got a good education. Got a great paying job. And now? I think about quitting everyday to work as a waitress just to focus on my blog. Yes I would certainly accept the 75-80% pay cut just to focus on what makes me happy: FASHION! My job isn’t the worse, but I literally feel useless here. And if you’re not careful, you will get comfortable and stuck working in boring corporate america. It’s true that if u do what you love, the money will come. I’ll just add – if you do what you love and work harder than you want to work, the money will come. There are so many opportunities in fashion, especially for a writer, Tarah. The problem is they aren’t advertised. I challenge you to research a new Job everyday and write it down. Look for people in that field and email them. You will be surprised to see how many ppl love to talk about their experiences and their regrets. In the end, pray about everything! As religious as Africans are, they fail to disregard where in scriptures it says it’s harder for a rich man to get into heaven than it is for a camel to go through the eye of the needle. Don’t chase money! Chase after the Lord’s heart and all things will surely be added on to you. God bless.

      • vivalaboatemaa says:

        Yeah, thats really something I am afraid of, I don’t want to grow up and hate the career I’m in. And sometimes I want to go back and kind of change my future plans, but I dont’t want all my hard work to go to waste. It’s just hard.

      • vivalaboatemaa says:

        Yeah you’re absolutely right. I rather do it now! I’m just gonna have to talk to a few people and see how they got started. Like its not so much of the sowing, it’s more of the designing and dressing people up.

      • tarahsaint says:

        Oh, girl, trust I do a LOT of research! lol it’s just difficult going out for the internships I want because of money, my school schedule…and money smh. I hate money. I’m working really hard on my blog – it is a reflection of myself and a portfolio the fashion industry can use to dictate my fit. I really can’t see myself working a regular job.
        Thank you so much for your advice! I’ll always keep in mind your words of encouragement…because trust, I need it! Also, sorry for the late response, love! God bless 🙂

      • tarahsaint says:

        Thank you so so much, love! I love yours. I’m hoping to apply to be a Fashion Bomb this summer. Gotta get more personal style posts up first! It’s really huge that you were featured. I was like, “hey! I know her!” and then zoomed over to your page lol

    • tarahsaint says:

      Yes, I’m so grateful that I actually know what I want to in life! I treasure that I found my passion so early on. Thanks for the encouragement, love!

  3. Sophie says:

    I too found that I had a strong passion for the fashion industry from quite an early age. My goal is to go into fashion journalism, but my parents are not the most supportive about it. I’ve been worrying about it a lot recently because I’m taking exams at the moment and they seem so pointless if I’m not going to be able to go into a career that I am really passionate about. Reading this post and the comments though has been really inspiring and it’s nice to know that other people feel the same as I do.

    http://prettypassionsfinefashions.blogspot.co.uk

    • tarahsaint says:

      Well first, thanks for reading! Second, I was always passionate about fashion. However, I also was very intrigued in Communications. You said you want to do fashion journalism…Journalism is key! So, how about you major in that? Fashion can come in with future internships and such.
      I’m glad my blog was of encouragement to you, love!

      • Sophie says:

        One of my main interests alongside fashion is writing, hence wanting to go into journalism. My plan has always been to major in English with Creative Writing then study fashion journalism on a postgraduate course. However, without support from my parents I doubt I’ll be able to go to a fashion/journalism college. The main thing that I think I’d gain from such a course is connections, which are obviously key in this industry. I still have a while to think about it though (although I start looking round universities next month!) Thank you for your help xoxo

  4. aprettythought says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this post. I could totally relate because i grew up the same way. I actually went to college and got my BS in Apparel Merchandising. My dad always thought it was a dumb idea. I know work in the fashion industry and I absolutely love it! Dont ever lose your love for fashion!
    XOXO
    Kierra
    http://aprettythought.org/

Talk to Me :)

