Audrey Hepburn

Scan by Rodney Todd-White & Son 020 7734 9070

Okay, I lied. “Finals & Florals” was not my first and last post of the week. This is. I promise. No, seriously…it is.

I knew it was Audrey Hepburn’s birthday when my friend took a picture of the painting of her at a hotel I was at. It was a gorgeous painting, btw! Oh yeah, I also was reminded by Google. Thanks, Google!

au2

I thought I could just not write about her style but how does a style blogger not write about the Audrey Hepburn?! This woman is hanging on the wall of thousands, millions (billions?) of girls all across the world! How dare I not pay homage. School must be killing my brain cells. You can’t blame me right? About posting about Audrey? Yeaaah, thanks 🙂

au3

Let’s do  a little background, shall we? Yes, let’s. Audrey Hepburn was played by British actress Audrey Ruston who was very popular in the “Golden Age” of Hollywood. She took ballet lessons at just 5 years old and was actually really good! However, due to her petite frame, she knew she didn’t have much of a future in dance. Audrey got into acting and the rest is history! Cliche, I know, but we’re talking history so just let me use old sayings!

After a series of acting on stage and small roles, Audrey Hepburn’s debut came to be in “The Secret People”. I, for one, never watched that movie but I definitely know what she is mostly remembered for, her popular films: “My Fair Lady” and “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”!!! Yes, exclamation points. I like them that much, guys.

au4

au5

au6

Besides her style, I love her brows and liner! Probably why I love Cara Delevigne and Lily Collins so much.

au10

au9

The International Best Dressed List Hall of Fame claimed her in ’61 and she readily deserved it. She was chic and simple. Her whole look was delicate and sophisticated. Her swept hair (or perfect buns…or short bangs!), unique angular shades, pearls, gloves, belted simple dresses, menswear, cropped pants, bold print and ballet flats have been recreated in so many ways. In fact, she was the original color blocker! I made that up, yes. But, she did really do color blocking justice.

au8

Audrey Hepburn Photo via Huffington Post

(Sidebar: This dress reminds me of Solange’s lemon printed one.)

The legend would’ve been 85 on May 4th but died of cancer in ’93 – a year before I was born! She’s an icon. She set trends. She’s classy. And, that’s what Adorned in Armor is all about!

au11

auc

auc1

Happy birthday to one of the greatest style icons!

auhap

auhap2

Photos courtesy of Tumblr unless stated otherwise.

29 thoughts on “Audrey Hepburn

  1. My Fashion S/ash Life says:

    I love this article! I am in LDN at the moment and here, Audrey Hepburn has been digitally remastered to appear in the Galaxy advert, I did such a double take when I saw the advert, have you seen it: ww.youtube.com/watch?v=gx9eDoS76LM
    I believe that says it all! Decades later, and she is still a source of inspiration and class!
    I was lucky to grow up with Audrey Hepburn, I saw films like Funny Face and Breakfast at T. when I was about 9 and they helped me catch the fashion bug, I also saw My Fair Lady (which is a film I can still watch now and just be amazed). It’s amazing that for someone so slight and delicate, she could carry of wearing simple to utterly dominating pieces of clothing and hats! I never noticed her eyebrows before, but yes they were strong, thick and lovely! I adore this woman, so, so much and icons like her are sorely missed. Ok, I’ll end my dissertation here!

  2. Pingback: Links à la Mode
  3. cutestcouturecutie says:

    great article and great topic too ! i love audrey hepburn ! (: amazing style ~

    xoxo
    Rei
    couturecrush.net

Talk to Me :)

