Thanks, But No Thanks

thanks

“Black Friday: Because only in America, people trample others for sales exactly one day after being thankful for what they already have.”

I read this quote last year around the same time of Thanksgiving and laughed aloud. No, seriously laughed.

Like, how true is that?!

I’ve never been shopping on Black Friday (I find a couple of deals from the comfort of my warm bed, behind my computer screen.), but I see/hear the news of the long lines, the few dying (literally) just to get that flat screen TV or the last whatever.

This isn’t going to be your typical Christian post of knowing you should be thankful everyday. This is the post about knowing to differentiate between material blessings and people.

Yesterday, I was having a conversation with my sister about post-college life. She was worrying about how fast time was going and asked me if I’m terrified since I’m graduating next year. I replied, “no” and laughed. I explained to her that I can do anything…mess up, fail, and want to give up, but at least I have someplace to come back to. I don’t just mean a home, I mean the people who are my home.

I am beyond grateful, no, indebted to have a strong foundation where people uplift me with bible verses, prayers, love and support. I may have times where I’d say, “I wish I had this”, or “I wish I had that”, but I can never say “I wish I had people that would just be there for me.” That’s just something material things cannot do.

Thank you, God, for my family, my friends, my professors, my readers. I appreciate you all. Happy Thanksgiving!

1 Thessalonians 5:18 (GW) “Whatever happens, give thanks, because it is God’s will in Christ Jesus that you do this.”

* P.S Don’t forget to enter my giveaway! It’s my way of saying thanks!

Photo via Tumblr.

28 thoughts on “Thanks, But No Thanks

  1. mai tran says:

    I’d much rather stay home with my family during this chaotic sales days of the year. We relax and enjoy the food, laugh and put Christmas decorations. It’s the gathering that makes me realize how grateful I’m to have such a wonderful family every day of my life.

    • tarahsaint says:

      Definitely! I never shopped on Black Friday really, mostly because my parents don’t care for it. But their “I-could-care-less” attitude about it has rubbed off on me! I love spending time in!

  2. Chekara says:

    I have only been Black Friday shopping twice in my life and I hated it! I am not a fan of the rushed and crowded shopping experience – which is precisely why I avoid the mall any time after Thanksgiving and before Christmas. I am thankful this year that although I may not have everything I want, I have everything that I could ever need. I appreciate this post so much!
    XO, Chekara | shadesofchekara.com

  3. Diana Corlett says:

    Very insightful! When we learn to differentiate between what we NEED and what we merely WANT, we will have evolved!

  4. Andrea Troutman says:

    I don’t shop on Black Friday. I just can’t handle the crowds and craziness of it all. I don’t have extra money, I could really use the good deals but it’s better to do it from home online or just pay a few extra dollars on another day in the store.

  5. sue williams says:

    Thanks for info I dont shop black friday I think it should be family time tried it one time I was broke my daughter needed n wanted a tv it was awful people running over each other n fighting never again!♥

Talk to Me :)

