Martin Luther King & Queens 

WEBMLK

First things first, I’m a tourist! Hope you guys all read that in your best “Iggy” impersonation! Lol

WashingtonDC_030

I told you all a few posts ago that I’m living in DC until May. I got accepted into American University’s Washington Semester Program so I’ll be heading to seminars and meeting media influencers all over DC. I’ve even had a class in the National Press Club! We’ll be meeting there a lot. My blog will somewhat transform into a lifestyle blog of some type for these few months.

10917965_10205551582891680_1557210963356527310_o
But enough about me, let’s talk Dr. King! Regardless of how you feel about him, today we remember Dr. King as a strong man of God that lead in the efforts of breaking the barriers of segregation. To celebrate his holiday, I got a group of friends together and we toured across DC all day. It’s crazy to think that decades ago, we wouldn’t be able to even be together just because of the differences of our skin color.

web_MLK Day 15 pic

We went to basically every memorial and ended at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Memorial. The March ended there, too!

I’ve seen these sites before on a high school trip lol but yesterday was different. I don’t know if it was the scenic memory of sun’s warmth glowing on the monument, or the many roses scattered on the ground. It was just …beautiful.
I never did anything for MLK day before. I used to just stay home and be happy I get to sleep in. This time, it felt fulfilling.
WashingtonDC_015
WashingtonDC_014
WashingtonDC_025
WEB_MLKTHIS
WED_MLKTHIS2
WashingtonDC_022
WashingtonDC_016
WashingtonDC_034
WashingtonDC_031
WashingtonDC_038
        WashingtonDC_033
WashingtonDC_032    WashingtonDC_013 WashingtonDC_040
web
Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. – MLK Jr.
P.S: Photos taken of me by my new friend Casey! Check out her work – she’s amazing!

Stay updated with me: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube 🙂

12 thoughts on “Martin Luther King & Queens 

Talk to Me :)

