Washington Semester Recap Part 1

IMG_0342

Remember when I said this blog is going to get lifestyle blog-ish while I’m here in DC? Well, this is what I’m talking about! I’m not here with a style post or a faith based one. Here I am with this week’s activities!

This week was filled with amazing opportunities that made me thank God even more than usual! Monday, I went to the Fox 5 station and appeared live on Good Day DC! Yes, I’m talking about air-time! One of my professors, Prof. Lee Ivory, has a connection with an anchor Wisdom Martin on the show, so my class was able to get that access!

Oh, wondering what I said on-air? I was asked what my favorite Super Bowl Commercial was. “The Kim Kardashion one,” I replied with pride, as my class and the anchor laughed.

IMG_0338IMG_0356IMG_0331IMG_0323IMG_0343 IMG_0345 IMG_0349 If you know me, or if you’ve been following this blog for awhile (which constitutes as the same thing), you know that this meant so much for me! My dream career is to host a show in the realms of Good Morning America. I would love to be known for my fashion influence but my on-air experience as well!

Next up, The Wall Street Journal! Tuesday, we had a neat little lecture with national reporter Gary Fields and other employees there. In the end, we were gifted with a free month subscription to the journal!

IMG_0394IMG_038510468661_10205165241304462_2854267727570026604_nIMG_0388

Wednesday, I went to The Washington Post! We had a lecture with Reporter/Education editor Valerie Strauss. Her education blog is actually the most popular at the Post!

FullSizeRender (1)

Oh, did I tell you? I intern with PBS! The show is called To The Contrary. It’s a show for women, by women!

FullSizeRender (2) FullSizeRender (3)

Throughout the week, we also had seminars with renowned Washington photographer Jason Miccolo Johnson whose works can be found in the Smithsonian Institution, the St. Louis Art Museum and The Museum of Fine Arts in Houston. He’s taken exclusive photos of President Obama, Nelson Mandela, Muhammad Ali, and Princess Diana (to name a few). In his lecture, we saw his most recent and popular photography, including on of the fabulous Lupita!!!!

Washington author, journalist, and producer Phil Lerman spoke Tuesday. He’s the guy that produced America’s Most Wanted!

Want more? Please stay updated with me! Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

19 thoughts on “Washington Semester Recap Part 1

  1. Asa says:

    You are truly blessed to have such an amazing opportunity. I would love to have experienced a semester program or internship when I was in college. You’re definitely going places. I really enjoyed this lifestyle piece and look forward to reading more that are similar.

    http://laceandpearlsblog.com

Talk to Me :)

