Dying to Live

lenfant plaza01

Guess what?

God’s not dead! No, I don’t think you get it. Let me use caps now: GOD’S NOT DEAD!

I feel like screaming it from the rooftops lol. Resurrection Sunday is such an uplifting day for humankind. Today is symbolic of hope restored. We’ve all been saved everybody! You probably think I’m crazy.

But let me just break it down.

Today’s sermon was about Jesus’ death. (Duh lol) The pastor referenced the opening act of Lazarus’ death and the headliner: Jesus. We focused on how Jesus prayed for God to save Him from death on the cross and God heard Him, yet He still died. Why didn’t God save Him?

Today, we wonder the same thing. “God, why didn’t you save me from death? Why didn’t you save me from that relationship, from me dying in my finances, my relationships, my career? Why didn’t you save my mom, my dad, my grandma from death?” We say to Him, “If You were here, this wouldn’t have happened.”

We ask: how can a loving God let Jesus die? How can He let us die?

We cry out to God but sometimes it seems as if He didn’t hear us because he didn’t save you so you die in that moment.

What we fail to realize is that God didn’t say you wont die. He’s saying that death is not the end. To be saved from death, you actually have to die. What we’re asking God is to keep us from death. We don’t realize that God has completed His best work in the dark (creation, Jesus’ resurrection, etc).

So while you’re “dead”, he’s working on making you brand new. At the moment of death, life breaks out! Saving you from death doesn’t mean you won’t have to go through that death-like situation. The pastor talked about how sometimes when we think God doesn’t show up to save us from our situations, we can’t even show up to church.

The point is: “When you’re made alive, people don’t have to see Jesus in the flesh. They just have to see Him alive in you. When we die to self daily, that’s when we are full of Christ.”

Are you living yet?

lenfant plaza05 lenfant plaza07 lenfant plaza08 lenfant plaza09 lenfant plaza10lenfant plaza16lenfant plaza11 lenfant plaza17

In case you didn’t know, God sent His only Son, Jesus, to carry the weight of the world’s sins on His shoulders so that He could wash it all away. Because of his death and resurrection, we can live!

If you have any questions, email me at adornedinarmor@gmail.com 🙂 Happy Easter, everyone!

And don’t forget to follow me! Instagram | Twitter | Youtube 

* Photos by Casey Mendoza!

13 thoughts on “Dying to Live

  1. officialfantasy says:

    I’ve missed your blog posts!! School has kept me busy but over with that! Great post and i Love the dress!

  2. Downtown Demure says:

    Beautiful post. We also often forget there is a fate worse than physical death: spiritual death and permanent separation from God. It’s a fate He wants to save us from, which is why he offered up his son for our sins. Thank you for reminding us of the reason for the season!

Talk to Me :)

