“Freshman 15” (& I’m Not Talking Carbs)

mmfreshman15

Finishing freshman year has taught me a lot. Lessons on branching out, learning about yourself and most importantly: differentiating between who’s real and who’s not.

On my first day at Stockton, I found myself in a state of mind I never thought possible – antisocial. I didn’t know a soul and felt so out of place in South Jersey.

I was freaking out. I had no clue what was wrong with me. I prayed and it began to sound like repetitive lyrics because I wasn’t confident. I was so scared to leave my room. I called Tarah and she said, “Are you serious? Shut up and go outside. You’re just homesick.”

Me, of all people. The girl who basically ran to school with her bags of luggage? The first step is acceptance and that I did. Once I realized that the only way to get comfortable was to be myself and make friends, I was perfectly fine. I didn’t want to have my guard up or seem too “picky” gaining the friendships, so my lists of contacts grew and grew.

Soon I had so many friends and new memories. Having a huge group to hang out with gave me a false sense of security. I had a “this” friend and a “that” friend, people for occasions instead of actual relationships. Slowly the weight was too much.

FACT: You are not fed the same meal as the person forced onto you during orientation.

Translation: We all have different upbringings. I lost my appetite watching how careless and rude people could be. It was overwhelming trusting people for the side they decided to show me. True colors began to show and I started to distance myself from the drama. I lost some friends and I wasn’t upset about it. The people I was meant to remain friends with, stuck around. I constantly kept in mind, “Would I be friends with you if I was back home?”

I had my own remedy for homesickness and it’s to keep company that remind you where you came from.

It’s important to step out of your comfort zone but never compromise who you are or add unnecessary drama. It isn’t worth it, especially in such an important stage of your life. I was always told that “everyone” in college was mature but that is FAR from the truth. You can’t put too much on your plate – college is stressful enough.

Popular culture has a tendency to solely focus on gaining a couple pounds instead of negative influences. While it is important to stay active, seek out healthy relationships that motivate you to be better. You have to be able to remain true to yourself and that is the only way to steer clear of the extra carbs.

How’s that for brain food?

Much love,
Medge

For more of my thoughts please follow my Instagram & Twitter!

Instagram | Twitter

19 thoughts on ““Freshman 15” (& I’m Not Talking Carbs)

  1. Fabrice Juin says:

    The analogy made to compare negative influences and fake friends to extra pounds and unnecessary carbs is an interesting one. It makes sense that they would both weigh you down but it’s intriguing how, after thinking about it, the former can serve as an even more effective means to preventing you from fully taking advantage of and enjoying the college experience than a literal gain in weight can. It also makes sense that, after your freshman year, it should be easier to avoid both versions of the “Freshman 15”. Unfortunately, I still won’t be able to stay away from buffet-style meal plan dining.
    Great debut article! Keep ’em coming!

  2. Jade says:

    medge this is really creative (actually I wanted more). I was really surprised by the connection you made to the similarities of the weight of food and the weight of shallow (or even draining) false relationships. Our culture loves to put our focus to the external – having the perfect body , having good grades (even if you can’t back it with real knowledge) etc. while those things are relevant, it’s much harder to transform a character that has been tainted with the superficial and negativity than it can be to literally lose those couple extra pounds that some also take on in school. Also reminds me about something I read on people pleasing recently – just gotta add that to my list of things to work on. Great post, keep spreading your light ! .

    • tarahsaint says:

      Thank you so much Jade! You’re the perfect example on how to balance a healthy lifestyle personally and physically. Don’t worry, I’ll be posting once a month.
      -Medge

  3. Elianny Alberto says:

    The accuracy in all of this is incredible. I think that going into college every student should be aware that it will take a few trial and errors before they find their fit. And just like you said, you will have different friends for different things but that is the best part of it. The amount of people that will come in and out of your life so suddenly will be so overwhelming. However, those that stick around will teach you valuable lessons and create great memories with you.

    I think the most important thing is to be yourself at all times, you want people to like you for you who are and surround yourself around those who accept you.

    All in all, great post! Reading this made me realize that I am not alone in situations like these. You could have not have been any more honest about what freshman year is like.

    • tarahsaint says:

      Thank you so much, Eli! I agree completely, in due time you realize who your real friends are and how to keep lasting relationships. If all else fails, we’ll have each other at Stockton 😉
      -Medge

  4. Kamary Serrano says:

    I loved the comparison between burdening friendships and gaining the freshman 15! They were definitely not only heavy on the shoulders but on the heart! Can’t wait to read more!

  5. Claire says:

    I like the connection as well ! Thank you for being vulnerable and sharing your feelings on something most people decide to keep inside or brush under the rug. College is hard & sometimes so foreign that people DO tend to lose themselves but you’re an example proving that it will be okay.
    Keep it up hun ! 😘

  6. Naeun says:

    This is such a great analogy! I wasn’t sure what to expect just from reading the title but you had me hooked onto every word Medge. I remember feeling the same during my first week of university (sorry I’m from Australia so I’m not used to the words ‘college’ or ‘freshman’ lol) but you seen realise who your real friends are. Wishing you the best for the rest of your ‘college’ life 🙂 xx

    http://www.tongue-in-chic.com

    • tarahsaint says:

      Hey Naeun, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I go to a university but we call it college. Extra, I know but America doesn’t make sense sometimes lol. Thank you so much for your feedback 🙂
      P.S you have a witty blog name, I love it!
      -Medge

Talk to Me :)

