Do Not Conform

DENIMCOLLAB_0103

I had trouble coming up with a title for this post. I wanted to play on words with alliteration (you know I love my English literary terms lol). It was initially supposed to be “Denim Denim Denim” – you know, in the Super Mario Bros voice haha and then I was like “hm, okay I’m almost always playful. What words could I share with my readers?”

Since this is a style post, I thought to talk trends. I typically don’t adopt “what’s in” – I see what I like and make it my own. You all know I love jumpsuits, so I definitely couldn’t resist this denim one – and I don’t even wear denim! But anyway, I wanted to elaborate more on what a trend is – not just in the sense of clothes.

“Trend” is defined as a “change or develop in a general direction.”Β In other words, it’s a currently adopted custom. It’s what’s in now. It’s a widely held belief.

It’s abstract but the first verse that came to my mind is Romans 12:2. “Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”

Just because you are in the world, doesn’t mean you are of it. As Christians, we have to realize that the atmosphere we’re living in will lead people away from God. We must be conscious of our surroundings. We must be able to realize the way in which we are being influenced. There’s a reason why we’re not doing what everyone else is doing. If an unbeliever can’t tell if you’re a Christian or not, there’s a problem!

Do not conform. Trends are temporary but the word of God lives forever. Just because the world may adopt a belief, doesn’t mean you have to. Just because they call you names and the seemingly majority tells you that you’re wrong, doesn’t change that God’s ways are always right. Be aware of the atmosphere we are in and be conscious of the world’s influence. Have a backbone in the faith! In all of your life, restrain from judgement and wholeheartedly display the love and truth that Christ placed in you to share.

In the midst of all these changes in the world, I’d like to leave you with a quote from Rick Warren:

“Our culture has accepted two huge lies. The first is that if you disagree with someone’s lifestyle. You must fear or hate them. The second is that to love someone means you agree with everything they believe or do. Both are nonsense. You don’t have to compromise convictions to be compassionate.”
DENIMCOLLAB_0105DENIMCOLLAB_0122DENIMCOLLAB_0123
DENIMCOLLAB_0117DENIMCOLLAB_0107 DENIMCOLLAB_0128DENIMCOLLAB_0120Jumpsuit – Forever 21

Necklace – ALDO

Shoes – Windsor Fashions

Let’s connect! Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

39 thoughts on “Do Not Conform

  1. carolinelacoma01 says:

    Hey you! I It is a real pleasure to read this post ! It reminded me that the most important is to follow God’s advices’ s about “look” or behaviour !
    I think like you said that we are in this World but we should also (or overall) be the lights ! In other words, through your style you also convey a message, you just have to choose the best one !

    • tarahsaint says:

      Amen, Caroline! So glad you read it and got something from it! We definitely must shine our light even when there are those out there to dim it. Thanks for your take πŸ™‚

  2. worldwidestylista says:

    Loved reading this post, Tarah! Always so thoughtful and inspiring πŸ™‚ It’s tough being a believer when the world view is the complete opposite. Thank you for sharing about this!

    • tarahsaint says:

      It definitely is, which is why we need to be more vocal! I love discovering when people believe in the word of Christ and stand on it πŸ™‚ God bless babe! Thanks for stopping by!!!

  3. N'war says:

    I scroll down see your pictures and then caught me by surprise with the pink shade. I like the contrast between the green and the blue outfit.

  4. budgetbelles80 says:

    We were are not careful we can get swept up in our surrounding and sometimes conform to it! I do not know if it is groupthink or just plain peer pressure! What ever it is we have to do what God says instead of the world.

  5. claricemetzger says:

    Falling more and more in love with your blog after each post! You are literally my blog goals! This look is so fabulous and so are you!

Talk to Me :)

