ELLE Intern Look #4 | Internship Must-Haves

bluesleekelleintern5

I’m back!!!

I realized something was missing from my “Internship” segment here on Adorned in Armor: The Millennial Commuter’s Survival Guide! Because truth of the matter is, you’ll have to travel with pretty much any internship – whether it be grueling hours or mere minutes. Here, I’m sharing my fourth ELLE intern look and my top 12 internship must-haves! Scroll along, scroll along 😉

blueelleinternnyc

1.) Metro Card

When I interned in DC and later in New York City, a metro card was most definitely essential. If I left the house without it, I’d be doomed. No seriously. You’re using it for metros and subways – how are you going to go anywhere without it?!

2.) Form of Payment

My mom has always taught me to carry cash on me so I always make sure I have $10 minimum. Of course, I still have my debit card with me, as well. It’s smart thinking to carry multiple forms of payment to avoid the hassle of going to the bank. At the Hearst building’s cafeteria, I once tried to pay for my lunch with cash and found out they only accept cards so, I used my card. Some other time, I had to refill my metro card at the subway station but the machine wouldn’t take my debit card. Thankfully, I had cash as a back up. See what I mean? Different forms saves lives lol.

3.) Wallet

It makes things much simpler when carrying a wallet. There, I stored my internship id, my driver’s license, a metro card, cash and debit. It doesn’t have to be huge. It just has to be something that’ll make things easier for you!

bluesleekelleintern1

4.) A Bag (Purse…whatever)

Travel lightly! Rush hour is horrible when boarding trains and subways. So my nude little bag was soooo clutch (get it? haha) to hold any must-needed items. I had a go-to small bag and a large one, which you see here! I tried to minimize switching up bags to avoid forgetting things. It happened to me twice and it was not fun!

I typically pack my bag the night before but I always double check my bag in the morning. One time when I arrived to the train station, I saw an old high school friend, Nicole, and we decided to sit next to each other on our ride to New York (She was heading there for dance class.) We finally arrive and as I was doing my triple check, I realized I left my intern id, debit card, and metro card at home.

I died.

Quickly, I asked Nicole if she could spot me so I could buy a whole new metro card. This angel spotted me and gave me her own metro card that had some change on there! She seriously saved me life because it was enough for one trip to the office! It was so crazy too because I brought lunch from home for the first time that day! Crazy how God works. I would’ve been beat and hungry.

Okay, back to the list lol.

5.) Cell Phone / Phone Charger

You need your cell phone but you knew that. I just felt the need to mention it…I’m not sure why lol. I used that bad boy particularly to buy my train tickets and see the times.

I bought a portable phone charger and it has been awesome for keeping my phone with juice! Your phone has to be alive in a city like New York.

6.) Water

Because hydration is key. Those subway stations are hot, sticky and basically a reason to pass out. Drink up, I’m telling ya!

IMG_1902

7.) A Scrunchie

You’re gonna wish you tied that hair back in that heat. Trust, girl. At the end of the day, you’ll just want to pull your hair back in a pony and relax.

bluesleekelleintern4

8.) Comfy shoes

You’re young. Who wants bunions or corns? Former ELLE Editor Victoria Hoff mentions how she “played dress-up” as a Vogue intern in my last post!

9.) A Light Cardi/Blazer/Scarf

Outside may be sweltering but the office is freezing! Bring something light to cover up. Those goosebumps will disappear in no time.

10.) A Snack 

Because munchies!

11.) Business Cards

You know how they say, “You’ll never know who you’ll meet on the elevator?” Well, they’re right. I met an editor from Marie Claire and Seventeen.com on there!

12.) A notepad.

Ideas and lessons taught come and go. Capture them before they’re gone!

bluesleekelleintern2

Got any commuting tips? Share below! I’d love to hear ’em. 🙂

Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

16 thoughts on “ELLE Intern Look #4 | Internship Must-Haves

  1. TaraSimone says:

    I love those pants you are wearing! I alwasy thought of interning at a fashion mag like ELLE, but then I realized . . . I have no style -LOL! Great tips, btw! I always try to carry cash wherever I go just in case something happens. Great to see I’m not the only one who believes in cards only.

    • tarahsaint says:

      TARA! My name is Tarah, too 🙂 Just with a H as you just saw lol. I found your comment hilarious – I’m sure your style isn’t horrid. Make yours…yours! Thanks so much for the love!

  2. No Rule, Just Style says:

    You look amazing! Your style just continues to evolve! Love the colorblock up top, and print at the bottom. Genius! Nice bag too! This is great advice! These are much needed essentials when traveling. LOL @ leaving your stuff at home. I check my bag at night as well. If not, I’d be screwed so many times. I am not a morning person. Ha! Yes, God definitely works things out…big and little. Enjoy the rest of your week! xx

    Abrielle| https://norulejuststyle.wordpress.com/

  3. Holly Loube says:

    Numbers 9 & 10 are my favorites because I’m currently wrapped up in my huge scarf, eating pretzels while sitting at my desk. Great post, you look fabulous as always 🙂

  4. A for Alyce says:

    Loving that print on your trousers! I definitely agree that water is essential. The weather is really warm these days and you can easily get dehydrated. I always try to carry a bottle of water with me when I go out. This was a really nice post to read, thanks for sharing! 😀

Talk to Me :)

