Worth It

burgundyfall-71

I considered not posting this look because my belt was slightly crooked. Extreme? Yes. But I wouldn’t had really done it. What my issue is: is the fact that the thought even came to mind!

On my contributing post on the Bronze Bombshell, I talk about how hard I am on myself when it comes to the material I put out. I can’t procrastinate if I tried and trust me, I’ve tried (just as a little experiment lol). Upon getting any assignments, I must complete it or at least start it as soon as I have the time. I literally have to. Oh, I work on breaks and holidays, too. Not like a maniac but I have this thing where I have to do at least one project in a break period, or else I feel like I wasted time. 

I just don’t like giving myself unnecessary stress. So to avoid it, I do what I have to…early. 

burgundyfall-3burgundyfall-14burgundyfall-4

Of course, I do like relaxing. I love relaxing but in the midst of school, work and blogging, I have to tell myself to take a break…to just c h i l l.

Being a hard worker is great, but always having to perfect that work sometimes isn’t so much. 

I actually didn’t know I worked myself too hard until this year. My friends told me!

burgundyfall-8burgundyfall-2

My parents raised me with the mentality that my best is always enough and I took that and ran with it. All throughout elementary, middle, high school and now my last year in college, I always sought out to perfect my work. If I got a B+ on a paper, I’d do a rewrite to get an A. (I did that this past weekend.) If there’s an extra credit opportunity, I always always take it. I loveeee extra credit! Again, this isn’t a bad thing.

burgundyfall-6burgundyfall-5burgundyfall-12

Now, there are different forms of perfectionism. As I was writing this post, I was trying to determine if I was one (perfectionist) wholly and did my research and was like “wait, all of this isn’t me!” Let me not put myself in a box. So, I’ll just be talking how any form of overwork can be a negative.

An issue can be that you seek approval from others and feel the need to please them. An issue can be that you think negatively of yourself and not give yourself enough credit. An issue can be that you’re not being satisfied with your looks so you constantly make up yourself to ensure you’re looking your very best. An issue could be thinking you have to fix yourself before God can fully love you and prepare you for your future. Or your issue could be something like mine – needing to learn how to gift your body with a break from going too hard at work.

Whether it be with work, looks, or whatever, every single human being need to come to a realization that our best work won’t always be perfect, but it is the best you can do and that’s enough!

burgundyfall-13burgundyfall-15burgundyfall-9

I work so hard because I don’t like the notion of settling, yes. But I also work hard because I know where I want to be. However, no matter how hard one works, it doesn’t mean success will come faster. Success comes when God allows it to. That doesn’t mean to procrastinate, no no no. Efficiently do your part and you’ll see God has been doing His all along.

His love goes over and beyond our limitations. His grace lets us be imperfect in every aspect of the word and is sufficient for us. His strength is made perfect in our weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9).

The world’s view on “perfection” isn’t what we ought to strive to be. As Christians, we were made to be mirrors of God’s love to everyone we come across. While here on this earth, we participate in a journey of personal transformation in loving Christ more, others and ourselves.

The road isn’t easy, nor is it a popular route. But it is worth it.

burgundyfall-10burgundyfall-111burgundyfall-1

Hat & Accessories: ALDO/ Belt: SheIn / Skirt: Thrifted / Shoes: G by Guess

Photography by Cassie Ettman

15 thoughts on “Worth It

  1. Toyinwithfashion says:

    Totally adore this look girl! Who would have thought red and purple? I work too much myself but then again I have a thing for sleeping too much, I don’t know how those two go! Haha
    Toyinwithfashion.com

Talk to Me :)

