Deck the Halls | Medgina’s Musings

deck the haulsHello, it’s me.

I’m the girl you attacked on Black Friday. Don’t you remember? While you were throwing clothes on the floor and pushing people out of the way, I stood there with a coupon in my hand and smile plastered onto my face.

I’m writing this letter to express how happy I am to work on the holidays :)…

That was my customer service facade.

Now, here’s the truth – why do we have to act like extra’s in a Hunger Games movie whenever there are deals for the holidays? You just had a Thanksgiving meal!

This was the first time I worked on Black Friday and I had hope. Yeah, the videos that surface of customers getting trampled and employees in survival mode are intense but I honestly believed it wouldn’t be that bad. The crowd outside the store was huge but I trusted in all of you to be the anomaly.

I understand my role as an employee for sure. It’s all about the customer but that doesn’t mean that I suddenly serve as a punching bag (literally…for some).

The doors opened and the madness ensued.

Why did you toss merchandise on the floor? Why did you get angry at me for the prices like it was my fault?

Black Friday was rough. Traumatic even. Thankfully, I believe in second chances so this Christmas, I’m going to give you tips on how to give the best presents without ripping my hair- sorry your hair out 🙂

1. Shop online.
2. Read number one. Do you know how much easier it is to shop online? You receive amazing deals and unique finds that you wouldn’t find in the store.
3. Be creative and do something for the person that they’ll appreciate.
4. Calculate the hours in the day where the store of choice won’t be ridiculously busy.

To anyone who has ever worked during the holidays, you have my respect and condolences. I see you and recognize that sometimes, you took on roles that were not in your job description. You held your tongue when someone gave you a bad attitude and kept your shoes on even when your feet were screaming.

Real MVP’s.

I hope we can take a step back and realize the purpose of holidays: spreading warmth and cheer. Don’t get lost in the hype, or find yourself waiting in long lines and not knowing how you ended up with ten bags in your hands. You will find the perfect gift and truthfully, it doesn’t have to be bought all the time.

Much love,
Medge

4 thoughts on “Deck the Halls | Medgina’s Musings

Talk to Me :)

