JUST BE HELD

justbeheldRemember that childhood song, “He’s got the whole world in His hands?” It started out with God holding the whole world in His hands, and then went into how He has you and me in His hands, and sisters and brothers, tiny babies, and just all of us! He has the whole world in His hands.

God in all His mighty, in all His busyness thinks of the tiniest creatures and lovingly holds and tends them. Reflecting back, I’m realizing the simple song held so much power. It was a small declaration that availed to much.

In a world where the hustle and bustle is the norm, when do you ever take rest? You have this to do and that and you have to “glo up” and then you have to climb the ladder to success. You have to go to work, go to school, go to church. You have a doctor appointment, you have to take your child to school, you have to finish up on a special project. You have all these things to do and so you stuff them into your day, hoping they’ll all fit. No – you make sure everything all fits and then you do the same thing the next day and the next.

Going through the motions.

What a stressful and tiring way to live! You’re making sure you’re being the boss lady that you are, or the boss man, just getting things done. But you leave little or no time to stop and sit back for a moment.

God is in control and He wants us to sit back and let Him take the rein over our lives. But we’re tussling around because we think we can get the work done faster and better than He can. Even in all you have to do, God is still holding you. Stop fighting and lean into His arms. Let Him protect you. Let Him guide you. Let Him love you.

Casting Crowns has a beautiful song out right now and it literally stops me in my tracks whenever I hear it. The chorus goes:

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held.

Peace is what I feel singing those words aloud. It falls on me the moment I hear the beginning chords and so I knew I had to write a post based on this. Right in time for the new year.

It’s time for a refresher. The Bible continuously tells us to take rest in God. Some of my favorite verses include:

Isaiah 41: 13 Easy-to-Read Version (ERV) “‘I am the Lord your God, who holds your right hand. And I tell you, ‘Don’t be afraid! I will help you.’”

Deuteronomy 31: 6 New International Version (NIV) “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Psalm 63:8 Easy-to-Read Version (ERV) “I stay close to you, and you hold me with your powerful arm.”

Isaiah 41:10New Living Translation (NLT) “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”

Psalm 138:7 New Living Translation (NLT) “Though I am surrounded by troubles, you will protect me from the anger of my enemies. You reach out your hand, and the power of your right hand saves me.”

Psalm 63:8 New International Version (NIV) “I cling to you; your right hand upholds me.”

Romans 8:38-39 Easy-to-Read Version (ERV) “Yes, I am sure that nothing can separate us from God’s love—not death, life, angels, or ruling spirits. I am sure that nothing now, nothing in the future, no powers, nothing above us or nothing below us—nothing in the whole created world—will ever be able to separate us from the love God has shown us in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

I hope those verses encourages you as they do me. God literally has angels stationed around you (Psalm 91:11-12). YOU! They have direct orders from God because He cares for your well-being.

Jesus reassures us that He will take our burdens and carry them so that we could be easy (Matthew 11:29-30). So let Him do that. Start this year loosening your load. Regain your energy under His wings.

It’s okay. It’s all in His hands.

I have been taking my own advice but now I will in regards to this site. I’ll soon be taking a quick break from blogging. I’m not sure when but I will let you know when I’ll leave and when I’ll return. In that quiet time, I’ll be praying about what will come next for this site and how I can be of benefit to you. Happy New Year, guys! I wish you all the utmost joy and success. Can’t wait to hear from you. 2016, let’s go.

 

7 thoughts on “JUST BE HELD

  1. moji says:

    Love the encouragement. overstressing is very common, especially when it comes to completing tasks that have deadlines. Its easy to forget that God is in control and that He is the One who is holding us, not the other way around. Awesome reminder of God’s unconditional Love! May God continue to bless you abundantly Tarah!

  2. Beauty in Christ (@Emily11949309) says:

    Wow. So perfect. Knowing that it is all of grace, that it is God’s power in us, the hope of salvation, is so hard to remember sometimes but such a gift. I pray that you would really really be refreshed in this time of seeking our Lord. I know that I can never do that enough. <333 He is precious.

    • tarahsaint says:

      Thank you so much for commenting, Emily! I appreciate your words of encouragement! And yes, I cannot wait to really sit back, wait and hear what He needs to tell me in this time. Happy New Year!

Talk to Me :)

